Family / Uncategorized

L to the I to the S…A…..Marie, no, not Elvis’ daughter!!!!

SONY DSC

Now I give the matriarch of the family the spotlight. I’ll go ahead and apologize for this because your questions will be a little more in-depth. You are a deep woman who deserves equally deep questions…Ok, peeps….It’s Lisa Lisa time!!!!

1. Describe Mark in 5 words….

Intelligent, Sexy, Strong, Sweet, Loyal

2. If you could have and job/occupation in the world and make the amount of money you needed to live comfortably, what would you do?

A flight attendant so I could see the world for free.

3. What’s the greatest lesson you’ve had to learn the hard way?

You cannot change somebody. No, matter how hard you try, what tactic you use, how hard you pray, how deeply you wish it. People will only change if they do the work themselves, it’s not something you can force.

4. Who’s your favorite daughter? LOL….
Anna because she’s the baby ( she’s also in the room at the time of the question!!!!)

5. You see us the most clearly, what’s your favorite characteristics for each of your little ladies?

Anna: Intelligence, quick wit, ability to make me think of things I haven’t thought of, greatest gift I never knew I needed.

Cassie: Always make me smile, Most simple and straight forward, when she loves- she loves with her whole heart- no ifs, ands or buts, She is just sunshine.

Brittany: Makes me want to be a better person, she gives of herself with only the thought of helping the other person, she is genuine, heartfelt, and sincere. She’s always true to herself. She doesn’t buy into peer pressure, she doesn’t allow herself to be any less than who she is.

Joelle: Strength, she’s always been a little mini-me. She’s been there through every good and bad time in my life and has been my rock. She always rises from adversity, stronger than she was before. She is an outstanding mother and the love of my life.

Carrie: Biggest cheerleader, the one that keeps me motivated, always gets me to try new things. To stretch beyond the boundaries that I think that I have. She’s been my best friend since the day I met her. Most emotional child, and the one that seeks answers to every question in a hundred different ways. She always keeps me on my toes.

Brooklyn: I wish Brooklyn knew how much I love her, and how much I only want the best for her.

6. What advice would you give all your kids- daughters, sons, grandbabies on how to make a romantic relationship successful?

It’s easy to fall in love, the work comes in staying in love. In staying in love, you must show the other person by words, thoughts, or actions- every single day that they matter and they are the number one person in your life. Out of those things, thoughts is the most important. If your thoughts are in the right place, your actions will follow. The small things matter much more than the big things. I love you written on the mirror is way more important than a new set of golf clubs….although Mark will disagree (he’ll say, give me the golf clubs.)

7. NOT!!!! using and Stevie Nicks references what quote would you say closely represents you?

It’s hard to think of any quotes…. You are who you think you are. If you believe you can do it, if you believe you can’t do it- you’re doomed. Positive energy comes from the mind first.

8. You just won the lottery besides buying diamonds what are you going to do with all that money?

First thing I’m going to do is take all my kids and my parents out…let them buy the house and car of their dreams. Then I’m going to travel… with them. I’m going to take them to Europe, and then each year, each family gets to pick the place of their dreams and I’m going to take us there. The other thing I would like to do is wipe out all debt for my family and friends and give them a fresh start….then I’ll buy diamonds!

9. How did you know you were falling for Mark?

First time I was intrigued by him was when I realized he wasn’t afraid of me. Most people in my life are intimated by me- I don’t mean to be intimidating. I realized I was falling for him when it became painful to be away from him.

10. Seriously, who in the family has the best taste in music or describe everyone’s taste…

Carrie: shows me country, alternative and things I don’t come across on my own. She’s the most adventuresome into branching out in all directions.

Cassie: more of my pop girl. Gives me music with an upbeat melody.

Joelle: Responsible for all the Jay-Z, Nelly, and Ludacris currently on my iPod. Her music gives me a beat and makes me feel like I could shake it like Beyonce.

Brittany: Has given me the love of show tunes and choral music.

Brooklyn: Has gotten me to listen to Lil Wayne and Eminem and to realize that their lyrics are much deeper than what you think they are.

Anna: Has given me the next generation of boy bands and her female pop singers. She keeps me young with her Selena Gomez, Victorious, and One Direction.

11. They say hindsight is 20/20, 18 year old Lisa- what advice would you give her?

Biggest advice I would give her is don’t sweat the small stuff. Relax. Perfection sometimes comes from imperfection. The second thing I would teach her, is that debt is the worst monkey on your back, credit cards are evil, and managing your finances is something you need to learn early, or pay for forever. Thirdly, is that while your career is important it does not trump family time. The over time that you work to provide the 100 presents on Christmas morning is not as important as giggling for no reason on a Friday night.

12. What are three place s you want to travel to that you’ve never been to before?

Egypt, I need to touch the pyramids. Hawaii because I need flowers in my hair, the only kind you can get in Hawaii, Japan because I’ve always been fascinated with Asia.

13. What is the one thing about yourself that you would thank your mother and father separately for?

The thing I would thank my mother for is grace. I learned grace from her, everything she does is done in an elegant, graceful way. I learned poise, public speaking, and confidence as a woman from her. From my dad, I have learned confidence in myself as a person. His undying faith, protectiveness, and love have guided me through situations I didn’t think  I could be strong for. He always used to ask me if I was a true Shetler, I took that as I needed to be strong.

14. What kind of man do you think Anna will end up marrying?

I hope she will end up with a man who supports her and believes in her everyday. She will find a man that she is able to be in charge of but also who will be quietly strong.

15. What do you think your strong and weak points are?

Strength: Hard worker, good at creating memories, I’m a good leader, and I get things done.

Weaknesses: I am sometimes too harsh, too serious and too demanding of others and expect more than they are sometimes capable of giving.

16. Give me an example of one of the those “life is perfect memories or bits of time”.

Christmas at Joelle’s this year. Being so thankful to have all my family together. You do not realize what Christmas is when your family is out-of-town. To open up that necklace from Mom and Bob and to be able to cry- it’s hard for my to cry, in front of those I love the most, and feel my love for them reflected back to me.

17. How would you describe our family dynamic when we are all together?

Crazy, loud, boisterous, fun, tight, secure and strong.

18. Do you and Marky- Mark have a special song and what is it and why?

It is “I’ll Be” by Edwin McCain. It is the first song we ever slow danced to. We were at Planet Rock- the old Sandals.

19. What three wishes would you want to be granted for Mark?

Good health and take away all his arthritis pain- no pain for the rest of his life, give him the political career of his dreams, I would wish him financial independence so he wouldn’t have to work- he could just do whatever he wanted everyday.

20. Quick!!! The house is on fire, what 5 things would you grab before you left the house?

Pookie’s ashes- duh, scrapbooks, little figurine of the girl in purple on the tv, autographed Stevie Nicks album, opal ring- only because my diamond would already be on.

21. What piece of advice do you have for all of us- kids and grandkids?

Any bad experience that you’re going through is only temporary and will pass, however any good experience that you’re having is temporary and will pass, also. So you must savor these moments and hold them close to your heart, being there for family and creating memories is the most important thing. If you can’t physically be there, a phone call, a card, or a text will work. Make sure you tell the people who you love, that you love them not only with the words I love you, but with your ability to show that you care, for every small or big moment in their lives.

SONY DSC

There you have it folks, The Queen has spoken….

Light and Love,

c2

Leave a comment